The Aquabats Finally Get Long-In-The-Works Series Greenlit


Deadline reports: “The Hub, the new cable channel targeting kids and their families, has picked up a new series starring the quirky rock band The Aquabats. The series, which is expected to receive a 13-episode order, hails from FremantleMedia Enterprises.

Christian Jacobs, Scott Schultz, and Jon Berrett’s The Magic Store, the company behind the Nickelodeon hit Yo Gabba Gabba!, is producing. Jacobs and Schultz created the Aquabats series, and Jacobs will also star as he is one of the founding members and the vocalist of The Aquabats.

Formed in 1994 in Orange County, CA, The Aquabats are known for their mythology, with the band members going by their superhero pseudonyms and wearing matching superhero costumes as they go on a quest to save the world from evil through music. The band’s current members include The MC Bat Commander (Jacobs), Crash McLarson (Chad Larson), Jimmy the Robot (James Briggs), Ricky Fitness (Ricky Falomir) and Eagle “Bones” Falconhawk (Ian Fowles). CAA-repped The Magic Store recently received a fourth season renewal from Nickelodeon for Yo Gabba Gabba!, which was picked up for 13 episodes.”

Check out a pilot for their series pitch from the days before Yo Gabba Gabba after the jump…


See also  "Weird Al" Yankovic on 'The Aquabats! Super Show!'

You may also like...