Another Michael is Back !

The 25th Anniversary of Thriller is upon us and we are celebrating with the release of a newly expanded deluxe edition of the phenomenal record-breaking pop culture touchstone. The 25th Anniversary Edition of Thriller includes the original album with 6 previously unreleased tracks featuring KANYE WEST, FERGIE, WILL.I.AM, AKON and the new single “For All Time” PLUS a BONUS DVD.

The 25th Anniversary Edition of Thriller is available Tuesday, February 12, 2008. Pre-order now online!

We have also relaunched Michael’s YouTube Page to mark the occasion. Go there to watch all the videos from Thriller as well as a teaser trailer for the new release. Also, stay tuned for the January launch of the new!

The 25th Anniversary Edition of Thriller Track List:

1. Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’
2. Baby Be Mine
3. The Girl Is Mine (with Paul McCartney)
4. Thriller
5. Beat It
6. Billie Jean
7. Human Nature
8. P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)
9. The Lady In My Life

Bonus Material:
10. Vincent Price Excerpt
From “Thriller” Voice-Over Session

Previously Unreleased Tracks for 25th Anniversary Edition
11. The Girl Is Mine 2008 with
12. P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing) 2008 with
13. Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’ 2008 with Akon
14. Beat It 2008 with Fergie
15. Billie Jean 2008 Kanye West mix
16. For All Time (unreleased track from original Thriller sessions)

Official Press Release:


Newly Expanded Deluxe Edition of Multi-Platinum Grammy-Winning Album With New & Previously Unreleased Bonus Tracks Including New 2008 Collaborations with Kanye West, Fergie, & Akon + Bonus DVD Featuring Digitally Restored Short Films
& Michael Jackson’s Historic Breakout Performance From “Motown 25: Yesterday, Today, Forever” Television Broadcast

Epic/Legacy Recordings proudly celebrates the 25th anniversary of Michael Jackson’s Thriller with a newly expanded deluxe edition of the phenomenal record-breaking pop culture touchstone. Available Tuesday, February 12, 2008.

The Thriller – 25th Anniversary Edition will include the original album in its entirety as well as seven bonus tracks and a DVD featuring Michael Jackson’s groundbreaking short films from Thriller (“Thriller,” “Beat It,” and “Billie Jean”) and the artist’s Emmy-nominated breakout performance of “Billie Jean” from the legendary “Motown 25: Yesterday, Today, Forever” television special (first broadcast on NBC on May 16, 1983).

The newly expanded version of Thriller premieres six tracks previously unreleased in any form: “Beat It 2008” with Fergie; a new Kanye West remix of “Billie Jean”; a new 2008 version of “Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin'” with Akon; remixes of “The Girl Is Mine” and “P.Y.T.”; and “For All Time,” a rare unreleased cut from the original Thriller recording sessions, newly mixed and mastered by Michael Jackson.

The deluxe Thriller – 25th Anniversary Edition packaging contains a personal greeting from Michael Jackson to his fans penned exclusively for this special release.

Originally released in the US 25 years ago on November 30, 1982 by Epic Records, Thriller, Michael Jackson’s sixth solo album and second with producer Quincy Jones, rocketed the former child-star lead singer for the Jackson 5 into the stratosphere of international superstardom. Introducing the “robot” and the “moonwalk” into the international lexicon of clubland dance moves via the pulsing sounds of Thriller, Michael Jackson revolutionized all aspects of mainstream pop culture — from radio airwaves to the newly emerging art form of music videos — becoming the world’s most popular entertainer in the process.

The original Thriller spent an astounding 80 consecutive weeks in the American Top 10, 37 of those at #1. Seven of the album’s original nine tracks became Top 10 singles on the Billboard Hot 100 while Individual singles from Thriller reached #1 chart positions in the US, the UK, France, Italy, Australia, Denmark, Belgium, South Africa, Spain, Ireland, New Zealand and Canada.

Thriller made history as the first and only record to be America’s top-selling album two years running (1983 and 1984).

Thriller has been certified 27x platinum by the RIAA, giving it Double Diamond Award status in the US. In addition, the album has achieved Diamond or Multi-Platinum status in Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Belgium, Canada, Finland, France, Germany, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland and the UK. In 1985, the Guinness Book of Records named Thriller the Best Selling Album of All Time, an achievement which remains unsurpassed to this day.

Written by:

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Twitter
  • RSS

No Responses to “Another Michael is Back !”

  1. cybergosh says:

    Although i love him and will always, this is kinda of a wasted oppurtunity – the black eyed peas people don’t belong on this and i don’t think anyone is really in need of any of these remixes.  I think he should have included more of the unreleased tracks from the recording sessions.  The one or two i have heard are up there with his best from this period and i know there are tons and tons of unused tracks and demos from the making of this album.  So why they are not here but fergie is i don’t wuite understand. 

    Of course i will still pre-order this right now.